In the words of Toby Keith, “I want to talk about me!”

                                                                     

I am thrilled to have been selected as an Ambassador for the Food Revolution- a volunteer position given to individuals who have shown a deep commitment to real food.  I give my spare time for free to further the mission of the Jamie Oliver Food Foundation.

My daily blog focuses on raising awareness of our sugar crisis here in America.  (And you thought the oil crisis was bad.)  The amount of treats presented to U.S. children on a weekly basis is bordering on obscenity.  I want to encourage others to track the amount of treats that go into their child so they can stay within the healthy range of pediatrician recommended 2 to 3 treats per week.  I believe this will help lower the never before seen levels in childhood obesity and diabetes.  According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) one in three Americans will suffer Type 2 diabetes by 2050.  I also believe school lunches need to be revamped. This blog is one woman’s first hand account, or as I like to say, “Food Fight.”  You will also find health related news, views and recipes.

I am a writer and food activist residing in the Sonoran desert- land of rattlesnakes, scorpions, colorful sunsets and blooming cactus. This was a big change from the Midwest where i was born and raised.  My hometown is known for its numerous summer festivals, long dark winters, and the mosquito- which i looked up every year to make sure it really was not the state bird. I love both places.  Of course, i believe i could be happy living in almost any city.

I have two little girls and am married to my dream guy, whom I met in front of a chocolate fountain.  My chocolate fountain.  After college graduation at a Jesuit University, where i earned my Business Administration/Marketing degree and studied Journalism, i learned the ropes of retail sales, working at a global company for three years. I left to study the art of chocolate by self-taught experts and became an artisan chocolatier myself- a type of chef specializing in chocolate and other confections.  I opened up a retail store of my own.  It was a 1000 sq. ft. stone-front Belgian chocolate store nestled under a bed and breakfast.  I created chocolate confections with my own hands for about seven years, continually learning and understanding the nuances and chemical principles of chocolate.  I had fun being an artist using chocolate as my paint and realized i had a love for working in a kitchen. It is at this time where i developed my love of heart-healthy, antioxidant-filled dark chocolate. I filled my shelves with it, food of the gods. This is also when i discovered an affinity towards freshly roasted walnuts, almonds, pecans and macadamia nuts.  I had fun training my young staff- especially on how to tell one nut from the other!

Since then, I’ve been doing the mommy gig. I get paid in giggles, smiles, planning fun parties and buying them cute dresses.  I LOVE to write, take pictures and connect with people.  I am passionate about good food and health for kids.

It is sad to see children who entrusted society to care for their health, but homes, schools and food manufacturers failed them.  And now these children have to worry about monitoring their blood sugar levels, taking diabetes medication, and/or battling their weight when they should be worrying about first crushes, bike routes, hair products, good grades and memorizing the lyrics to their favorite song.  My dad suffered from Type 2 Diabetes, and i saw first hand how it can affect one’s quality of life- the insulin shots, the diet regulation, blood monitoring, mood swings, episodes of unconsciousness and trips to the emergency room.

Children deserve proper food education and implementation.  Thank you to all the parents, schools and food manufacturers who do things right, and recognize your social responsibility.

This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the words of Toby Keith, “I want to talk about me!”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Amen sister!

Leave a Reply

